Motivation to Succeed 

One thing I studied extensively as a psychology student was motivational states. My undergraduate thesis involved cognitive appraisals of challenge and threat, which are primarily separated by whether or not you believe you can overcome a task. We know for a fact that believing you can accomplish something increases your likelihood of success, as well as bolstering your mental fortitude in the face of failure.
Yesterday, I experienced this phenomenon first-hand. After failing my first attempt to snatch 225 lbs (92% of my best), I felt like it ‘wasn’t my day’.  I felt uncoordinated, tight, and weak. But it was all in my head; the difference between missing and making the lift was entirely technical, and I just wasn’t dialing in. I came back to miss it two more time, but I wasn’t thinking positively. I was motivated to Avoid Failure, because I felt that failure was the most likely outcome. I was making mistakes and reacting to try to correct them. In my head, the narrative ran, ‘you’re too far forward; you need to lean back to compensate’, and then I’d miss the lift by an inch forward.
On my fourth attempt, I felt these doubts creeping in again, so I reminded myself that I have the capacity to accomplish this lift, but I just need to be confident and focus on succeeding. My motivation switched, my mentality switched, and my mind stayed a step ahead of my body. At the floor, I knew where I needed to be at the hip. At the hip, I knew where I needed to be overhead. Suddenly, I snatched 225(92%) like it was nothing.
Then I hit 232.5(95%) on my first try, and 237.5(97%) on my third try. This is heavier than I have snatched since December of last year, and it was August 1st.
Sometimes the things holding you back are all in your head. You doubt yourself, and start fighting an uphill battle of diagnosing your issues and trying to react to them.  Make sure you aren’t Motivated To Avoid Failure, but rather Motivated To Succeed. Change your motivation, and you might change your outcomes.